Fellows’ elections and appointments round-up

Fellows at St Catherine’s are often recognised by their peers, and we were delighted that four of our Fellows received recognition this summer for their academic contributions. Here’s a round-up of their latest nominations, elections and achievements.

Elections to Academia Europaea
The Master, Professor Kersti Borjars, and Professor Laura Tunbridge, Henfrey Fellow and Tutor in Music have been elected Members of Academia Europaea. New members are nominated by existing members, before a rigorous peer review process selects and invites a small number of nominees to join.

Professors Börjars and Tunbridge were selected because of their sustained academic excellence in linguistics and music respectively.

Read more…

Eleanor Stride becomes Honorary Fellow of IET
Professor Eleanor Stride, Catz Fellow and Statutory Professor of Biomaterials, has been awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), in recognition of her contribution to biomedical engineering and research into the treatment of major diseases.

The IET is dedicated to inspiring, informing and influencing the global engineering community to engineer a better world, and announced Professor Stride as Honorary Fellow, along with 15 other world-leading engineers, to celebrate its 150th year.

Read more…

Louise Fawcett elected to Belgian Royal Academy
Catz Fellow and Professor of International Relations, Louise Fawcett, has been elected to the Belgian Royal Academy (Académie Royale de Belgique) as an Associate Member of the Class of Letters and Moral and Political Sciences.

Professor Fawcett was recognised for her contribution to the comparative and theoretical studies of regional and global governance, the history of the Cold War and the international relations of the Middle East.

Read more…