Health & Welfare

The Dean, Professor Richard Bailey, oversees student welfare and discipline. He is assisted by resident Junior Deans, who can also often act as a first line of communication between the students and the Dean, and who are fully qualified to advise on personal welfare matters. To contact the Dean directly, or to make an appointment, please contact his PA, Lizzie Andrews on 01865 271701

Junior Deans

Open
<

2019/20

Zoe Nunn zoe.nunn@stcatz.ox.ac.uk
Liam Saddington liam.saddington@stcatz.ox.ac.uk
Marleen Schoenfeld  marleen.schoenfeld@stcatz.ox.ac.uk
Bradley Sheath bradley.sheath@stcatz.ox.ac.uk

For further details please see the Junior Deans Poster displayed on each staircase in the College.

Welfare Reps

Open
<

In addition to the Junior Deans, our JCR and MCR have Female and Male Welfare Reps:

JCR:

2019/20
Matthew Emmett matthew.emmett@stcatz.ox.ac.uk
Rachael Parker Allen rachael.parkerallen@stcatz.ox.ac.uk
Rory Sinnott rory.sinnott@stcatz.ox.ac.uk)

MCR:

General MCR Welfare Enquires mcr.welfare@stcatz.ox.ac.uk
Ikuya Aizawa ikuya.aizawa@stcatz.ox.ac.uk

When students seek advice about personal problems, they can also approach one of the panel of College Advisors, who include both a male and a female Fellow who are also Harassment Advisors. For other matters, students can contact the University Student Counselling Service which is staffed by qualified counsellors. The student welfare services are explained in detail in the Medical and Personal section of the Information and Regulations for Members of College which is issued to all students.

The College Advisors are:

Professor Richard Todd richard.todd@stcatz.ox.ac.uk
Professor Gaia Scerif gaia.scerif@stcatz.ox.ac.uk

For information about University services please see the Health and Welfare section of the Student Gateway.

Disability

Open
<

St Catherine’s is committed to providing effective support so all our students may achieve their academic potential. As such, we are signed up to the principles of the University’s Common Framework for Supporting Disabled Students, and we work closely with the University’s Disability Advisory Service (DAS) to offer information, assistance and support to students with any disability that may impact on their academic, social or residential experience at Oxford.

Overseeing St Catherine’s provision is the Academic Registrar, Cressida Chappell, who acts as Disability Lead and Co-ordinator.

In our experience, support can be most effective if we are provided with the details of any disability or chronic condition as soon as possible. If you are coming to study at St Catherine’s and have not yet disclosed a disability or chronic condition, we encourage you to get in touch with Georgina Heywood, the Disability Officer at the DAS who is linked to St Catherine’s, and also to complete the DAS Registration & Study Support Form as soon as possible. All disclosures are treated confidentially. Prospective applicants and current students are encouraged to contact the St Catherine’s Disability Lead and Co-ordinator, Cressida Chappell, or take a look at the Disability Advisory Service website for further information.

Medical Staff

Open
<

The College Nurse is the initial contact in cases of minor illness or accidents. Clinic times are listed below. The Nurse can be found in Room 1 of Staircase 1 and can be contacted via email: nurse@stcatz.ox.ac.uk or Tel: 01865 271719

College Nurse Hours (weeks 0-9)

Tuesdays: 9:00 – 14:00

Thursdays: 9:00 – 14:00

The Nurse acts in consultation with the College Doctors, Dr Naomi Drury and Dr MaryKate Kirkaldy, who have a medical practice in the centre of Oxford (see below for details).

Dr Naomi Drury & Dr MaryKate Kirkaldy

College Doctors
King Edward Street Medical Practice
9 King Edward Street, Oriel Square
Tel: 01865 242657
Monday to Friday 8:30 – 18:00

Dentist

Open
<

Studental

Dental provision for the University of Oxford is undertaken by Studental (Tel: 01865 689997). A full range of NHS treatments is available at Studental (with the exception of Orthodontics), and student members are charged NHS rates. Further details are available from the College Nurse’s surgery.

Emergency out-of-hours dental treatment

In addition, emergency out-of-hours dental advice and treatment is available by telephoning 111 during the following times:

Monday – Thursday 18:30 – 21:30
Saturday – Sunday 9:00 – 18:00
Bank Holidays & Bank Holiday Weekends 9:00 – 17:00 / 18:00 – 21:00

Counselling

Open
<

College Counsellor

The College Counsellor, Susanna Lee, is available in college on an appointment basis and can be contacted by email: counsellor@stcatz.ox.ac.uk.