Why Catz?

  • St Catherine’s has a large and enthusiastic English department. At any one time, St Catherine's has around thirty undergraduates reading the subject as well as a number studying for the joint degrees of English & Modern Languages or History & English.
  • Catz English tutors and students have founded their very own Literary Society, named 'Catz-22,' where students can develop their love of literature beyond the tutorial and classroom.

Undergraduate funding opportunities

The University of Oxford is committed to ensuring students from the UK and EU understand the costs and funding for them if they choose to apply to the University of Oxford.

While many universities are offering either reduced fees or bursaries, Oxford will provide both. Not only this, in 2013 Oxford is offering the most generous financial support of any university to those on a family income of less than £16,000.

For more information click here.


1852    Royal Commission proposes the creation of a category of Non-Collegiate Students as part of its recommendation to reform Oxford and Cambridge Universities.
1868    Delegacy for Unattached Students formed. First group of Unattached Students allowed to matriculate.
1884    Delegacy for Unattached Students renamed as Delegacy for Non-Collegiate Students.
1931    Delegacy for Non-Collegiate Students renamed St Catherine’s Society.
1952    Alan Bullock, Fellow of New College, appointed Censor.
1956    Censor Bullock obtains agreement from the University to turn the Society into a fully residential college.
1960    Eight acres of Holywell Great Meadow acquired from Merton College. Arne Jacobsen appointed to design and furnish the College and design its gardens. Alan Bullock appointed first Master. HM The Queen laid foundation stone in Holywell Great Meadow.
1962    St Catherine’s College opened.
1964    Ceremonial opening of the College by Harold Macmillan as Chancellor of the University.
1974    Women first admitted to the College.
2012    The College celebrates its 50th anniversary.
2018    The College celebrates 150 years since our founding as the Delegacy for Unattached Students.


Prepared for university? Take control.

Some contents insurance has already been arranged for you inside your room with Endsleigh, the No.1 student insurance provider.

Please follow the steps below to ensure you fully understand this cover, with the option to take out more cover should you need it.

Go to endsleigh.co.uk/reviewcover to check your policy details and enter your policy number HH1110 if requested.
Visit the review cover link to: 
✔ Check what is covered.

✔ Review key exclusions and limitations.

✔ Check your policy excess.

✔ Learn how to make a claim.

✔ Extend and personalise your cover.

It's important to check your cover, as you may find it is not sufficient for your needs. You can easily take out cover to protect all your items; from laptops and phones through to bikes and musical instruments, with the option to cover them outside of your room too.

Find out more about your insurance today!


Ben Bollig

BA Nott, MA, PhD KCL, MA Oxf

I teach all areas of Spanish language and literature to first-year students. To second and final-years I teach modern Latin American literature and film, as well as Spanish language (in particular translation from Spanish).

About me
I studied Spanish and Portuguese at the University of Nottingham, and then took an MA in Latin American Cultural Studies and a PhD in Argentine literature at King’s College, London. I went on to work as a lecturer at universities in London and then for five years at the University of Leeds, before joining Catz in 2011. In 2016 I became Professor of Spanish American Literature. 

I work on contemporary literature and film in Latin America. I am currently writing a book on the cinematic adaptation of poetry in Argentina and editing another, on the same topic but across Latin America, with David M.J. Wood (UNAM). I have also published articles and been interviewed for a podcast on crime fiction in Latin America. My most recent books incluce Politics and Public Space in Contemporary Argentine Poetry. The Lyric and the Statea translation of Cristian Aliaga's The Foreign Passion (London: Influx, 2016); and, with Alejandra Crosta, a volume of new British poetry in Spanish translation, Antropófagos en las islas, published in Argentina by Espacio Hudson. I co-edited Latin American Cultural Studies: A Reader for Routledge. I am an editor of Journal of Latin American Cultural Studies. A number of my reviews have been published in the TLS - on Neruda, Cortázar, and Carlos Gamerro  

Graduate supervision
I have supervised graduate students at Masters and PhD level on modern and contemporary literature, culture and film in Latin America, and would welcome prospective students in these areas.

Other college responsibilities
Director of Studies, Modern Languages; Director of Studies, Spanish.


Fellow and Tutor in Spanish
Professor of Spanish American Literature
Associate Lecturer in Spanish, St John's College Oxford.

News Archive

Below you will find our archived news articles.

Latest News

Administrative Staff


Subscribe to www.stcatz.ox.ac.uk RSS