Professor Bill David elected to The Royal Society

Professor Bill David elected to The Royal Society

St Catz Fellow by Special Election in Physics and Professor of Chemistry, Bill David, is one of 7 Oxford Academics to have been elected into The Royal Society. The Royal Society is a Fellowship of many of the world's most eminent scientists and is the oldest scientific academy in continuous existence, with past members including Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin and Albert Einstein.

Venki Ramakrishnan, President of the Royal Society, said: ‘The scientists elected to the Fellowship are leaders who have advanced their fields through their ground breaking work. We are delighted to welcome them to the Royal Society.'
Bill David is distinguished as a leader in the experimental, computational and theoretical development of neutron and X-ray powder diffraction techniques, and has made substantial contributions across a broad range of materials research from lithium batteries and high-temperature superconductors to fullerenes and pharmaceutical compounds. He has pioneered the field of time-of-flight neutron powder diffraction and is a key figure in establishing powder diffraction as a routine technique for the structure determination of molecular compounds. His materials research focuses on low-carbon chemical energy storage with the discovery of new hydrogen storage systems and the development of ammonia as an energy vector.

Bill commented, "It is an immense privilege and honour to be elected a Fellow of the Royal Society. Reading the news for the first time ranks as the most pleasant shock of my career".

Bill will be adding this award to others, including: the IOP CV Boys Prize (1990), the British Crystallography Association Prize (2002), the European Society for Applied Physical Chemistry Prize (2006), one of three Bragg Lecture Awards (2013) marking the centenary of the discovery of X-ray diffraction, and the 2015 RSC John B Goodenough Award recognising exceptional and sustained contributions to materials chemistry.

Read more about the Oxford Academics elected and their work here: